Magnolia wins AA Boys

Franklin Repeats As High Point Champ


Brandon Franklin

Last year, Liberty Harrison’s Brandon Franklin edged former Sherman star Jake Rollo for the high point by a mere four points. This year--from the beginning--there was little doubt who was going to be high point champ. On Friday night, Franklin won long jump by over a foot.


Then on Saturday, the junior showed strong performances as he was able to triple in the 100-meter, 200-meter and 400-meter dashes. His time 48.43 in the 400-meter dash, broke a 27-year-old state meet. After the 400-meter dash he said, “The race took a lot of me, but at the same time it gives me a boost of confidence heading into the 100 and 200.”


Franklin used the confidence of beating Magnolia’s Stephen Rogalski in the 400 that it carried over to the 200 to defeat Rogalski for a second time.


Coming into states, a tight-team title battle was expected between Ritchie County and Magnolia. The Blue Eagles from Magnolia were able to edge Ritchie County by seven points. Magnolia was able to win the state championship despite only having two individual state champions.


Both of their championships came via the relay--4x100-meter and 4x200-meter relays.


Even though Ritchie County was unable to defeat Magnolia, senior thrower Mark Britton turned in great performances for the Rebels. His heave of 177 feet and nine inches broke the state meet record. Britton has already thrown 181 feet this year, which ranks him in the top 40 in the nation. Earlier on Friday, Britton out threw Magnolia’s Matthew Riggs in the shot put.


AA State Champion Mark Britton


Other great performances of the weekend included Keyser’s Taven Rohrbaugh and Ritchie County’s Jeffrey Britton become the first AA runners to break two mintues for the 800-meter run. Rohrbaugh won the event with a time of 1:57.51.


The 1600-meter run between Sherman’s Brandon Harless and Braxton County’s Russell Nuckles. Harless was able to track down Nuckles in the last 50 meters of the race and out lean Nuckles for the win by .02 seconds.