WV AA Girls Track State Meet Preview


Eight teams in the mix for title at states


Fractions of seconds and inches could decide several individual champions and ultimately the team champion in the girls AA races at the state meet.


In the girls’ 1600-meter run, the top five are separated by a mere three seconds. Clocking the top time this year is Frankfort’s Katie Jan at 5:28. Philip Barbour’s Sarah McCauley, who is the defending state cross country champion is seeded second at 5:29. McCauley was injured for the majority of the season, but has had strong performances since returning. Point Pleasant’s Andrea Porter and Weir’s Tricia Marker have both run 5:30. Rounding out the top five is Herbert Hoover’s Erica Walker at 5:31.


The 3200-meter run is much of the same tune. McCauley enters with the top time at 11:42. Porter has run 11:43. A pair of McCauley’s teammates, Katelyn Mahoney and Brianna Waybright, have both run 11:44.


In the 400-meter dash, Lincoln’s Madison Cunningham and Wayne’s Shannon Rutherford have both cracked the 60 second barrier this year. Not far behind them is Oak Glen’s Alexis Burch, who has run 1:00.33. However, Rutherford does look to have an advantage in the 800-meter run. Her time of 2:21.70 is almost five second ahead of the second place.


In the 300-meter low hurdles, five athletes are separated by a little more than one second. Leading the way is Poca’s Adrian Cunningham at 47.65. Keyser’s Erica White, Shady Spring’s Kristin Boyd, Berkley Springs’  Michelle Williams and Oak Glen’s Amy Webster have all gone under 49 seconds.


In the field events, high jump looks to be the most intriguing as five girls have jumped five foot even. They include Tyler Consolidated’s Mikayla Clegg, Independence’s Brenna Williams, Magnolia’s Aly Smith, PikeView’s Emilee Comer and Grafton’s Keleight Cochran.


The team race could be one of the tightest in recent state meet memory. Eight teams are in the competition for the State title. They are: Tyler Consolidated, Oak Glen, Weir, Berkeley Sprints, Keyser, Philip Barbour, Wayne, and Point Pleasant.