WV All-State AA-A Cross Country

We are pleased to recognize the top 10 girls and boys of the AA-A State Cross Country Meet which earned All-State honors.

Top 10 Girls in AA-A


The AA-A girls All_State honors are headed by State Champion Maggie Drazba, a freshman, from St. Marys. She won the meet by 18 seconds in a time of  20:08.50.


Molly Summers a senior of Grafton took 2nd place in 20:24.76. Summers was followed junior Sarah McCauley of Philip Barbour with a time of 20:29.97. Directly behind in 4th place was Desiree Roseberry an 11th grader from Shady Spring with a time of 20:31.68. Next were two freshman, Sami Harris (21:13.84) of Charleston Catholic and Brianna Waybright (21:25.69) of Philip Barbour. The 7th place finisher was sophomore Macy Houck of Berkeley Springs in 21:26.55.


Sarah Evans of Trinity, a sophomore, claimed the 8th spot in 21:29.59. In 9th place was sophomore Bethany Carroll of Doddridge County in 21:30. Claiming the last All-State designation was junior Chelsea East of Pikeview with a time of 21:35.94.


Top 10 Boys AA-A


Leading the way for the top 10 boys achieving All-State honors is Drew Woodford of Grafton. Woodford, a junior, pulled away for a 16 second win in the mud with a time of 17:09.02 to claim the individual State Championship title.Senior John Mundey of Berkeley Springs was runner-up with a time of 17:25.03.


In 3rd place was Derrick Chaffin, a senior, from Richwood with a time of 17:36.46. Claiming the 4th spot of the podium was junior Matt Knowlton of Ravenswood in 17:45.04. Jordan Weitzel a senior from Pikeview took the 5th position in 17:45.94. The next three spots were also taken by seniors.  Riley Freeman (17:48.98) of Philip Barbour, David Rhodes (17:49.66) from Tucker County, and Chris Toompas (17:57.09) of Philip Barbour.


Grabbing the 9th spot was junior Daniel Clevenger of Doddridge County with a time of 17:58.30. Earning the last place on the podium as one of the elite was junior Jake Wise of Berkeley Springs with a time of 18:02.08.


Congratulations to all earning All-State honors.