WVWC Women, WJU Men Claim 2007 WVIAC Track & Field Championships

 WVIAC Press Release


WHEELING, W.VA)---West Virginia Wesleyan's women and Wheeling Jesuit's men claimed the team championships at the WVIAC Track & Field Championships. The Bobcats edged host Wheeling Jesuit 200-179 to earn the women's title, while WJU used a strong second day to control of the men's meet to outscore West Virginia Wesleyan and Concord.


The Most Valuable Performers in each meet were familiar faces to WVIAC track fans. Wheeling Jesuit's Kayla Johnson won her fourth consecutive MVP award on the women's side. Aaron Rosier of WJU grabbed the men's MVP honor for a third season in a row.


Johnson won the women's Track Athlete of the Year award. Teammate Erin Lines was the Field Athlete of the Year, while WJU's Brianna Clark and Glenville State's Camai Roberson shared the Rookie of the Year accolade.


West Virginia Wesleyan throwing specialist Tyler Blatchley is the men's Field Athlete of the Year. Daniel Greaves of Wheeling Jesuit is the men's Track Athlete of the Year and Concord's Scott Grose claimed Rookie of the Year laurels.


Trent Huntsinger was named the WVIAC Men's Coach of the Year after leading Wheeling Jesuit to their eighth league title in 11 seasons. Concord's Mike Cox and Wesleyan veteran mentor Jesse Skiles split the women's coaching honors. Cox guided his Lady Lions to a third place finish. Skiles' WVWC ladies' contingent triumphed at the conference meet for the 15th time in the past 17 years.


The championship's most exciting action came in the final event of the day as Wheeling Jesuit's 4X400 meter relay foursome of Andre Walcott, Aaron Rosier, Jason Forrester, and Daniel Greaves established a new meet record of 3: 16.22 to narrowly hold off West Virginia Wesleyan. The Bobcat squad of Rico Greenhowe, Ricky Kump, John Natow, and Ryan Johnson finished just behind at 3:16.28.


Other record setting efforts include Wesleyan's Blatchley in the discus throw (164'2"), Charleston's Erin Dilley in the women's 800 meter run (2: 17.04), Wesleyan's Amanda Griffith in the women's 10000 meter run (39:07.19), and Wheeling Jesuit's women's 4X400 relay squad (4:05.94) of Brianna Clark, Amanda Reyher, Erika Rucker, and Johnson.